Use this guide to access library resources, including databases, books, academic journals, and textbooks, Open Educational Resources, and freely available online resources related to the subject of Art.
The Smarthistory team has been hard at work on a brand-new initiative. Introducing Smarthistory Books — free, downloadable, printable texts for the classroom, with print on demand options available. Four books are currently available: Guides for Aegean, Greek, Near Eastern, and Egyptian art.
A website with images, videos, and information about art from Prehistoric sculptures to 20th century Architecture. Smarthistory’s free, award-winning digital content unlocks the expertise of hundreds of leading scholars, making the history of art accessible and engaging to more people, in more places, than any other publisher.
This handout discusses a few common assignments found in art history courses. To help you better understand those assignments, this handout highlights key strategies for approaching and analyzing visual materials.
This book contains all of Smarthistory’s content for Ancient Egyptian art. Contains overview of Egyptian art, starting with Predynastic, then moving to Old Kingdom, Middle & New Kingdom art movements and examples.
This book contains all of Smarthistory’s content for Ancient Etruscan art. Includes a historical overview of the Etruscan people, as well as detailed histories and review of art techniques used to create many pieces of Etruscan art.
This book contains all of Smarthistory’s content for Ancient Near Eastern art. Text includes all of Smarthistory’s content for Sumerian, Akkadian, Neo-Sumerian / Ur III, Babylonian, Assyrian and Persian art.
This book contains all of Smarthistory’s content for Ancient Roman art. Includes an introduction to Ancient Rome, wall paintings/frescoes, and art styles and techniques throughout the Roman Early, Middle & Late Empire.
This book aims to act as your map through the world of African art. As such, it will help you define the competencies you need to develop–visual analysis, research, noting what information is critical, asking questions, and writing down your observations–and provide opportunities for you to practice these skills until you are proficient. It will also expose you to new art forms and the worlds that produced them, enriching your understanding and appreciation.
This wiki-book covers the long and varied history of art, spanning tens of thousands of years, from ancient paintings on the walls of caves to the glow of computer-generated images on the screens of the 21st century.
American Encounters provides a narrative of the history of American art that focuses on historical encounters among diverse cultures, upon broad structural transformations such as the rise of the middle classes and the emergence of consumer and mass culture, and on the fluid conversations between "high" art and vernacular expressions.
This course covers art from its origins in prehistoric times, through the art of ancient Egypt and Greece, through the various Chinese Dynasties, and the various European and American artistic periods, spanning the various cultures and centuries of artistic creation.
Art History Teaching Resources (AHTR)
is a peer-populated platform for art history teachers. AHTR is home to a constantly evolving and collectively authored online repository of art history teaching content including, but not limited to, lesson plans, video introductions to museums, book reviews, image clusters, and classroom and museum activities.
Journal of the International Association of Research Institutes in the History of Art is a peer-reviewed Open Access journal for the history of art and visual culture, featuring outstanding research articles that offer significant contributions to current scholarship.