HLTH 1500 - Nutrition - Health, Wellness, & Nutrition - LibGuides at Hibbing Community College

Textbooks

Nutrition Repository - Georgia Highlands College
Two OER nutrition texts, plus supplementary resources, included in one LibGuide: Kansas State's 20 chapter OER Nutrition textbook, and Snow & Zimmerman's 15 chapter OER Principles of Nutrition textbook.

Human Nutrition by Luisa Giles and Komal Dhaliwal
Publication Date: 2024-07-31

This textbook serves as an introduction to nutrition for undergraduate students and is the OER textbook for the Kin 260 Topics in Human Nutrition course at The University of the Fraser Valley, BC, Canada. The book covers basic concepts in human nutrition, key information about essential nutrients and how the scientific method should be used to make nutrition-related decisions.
Nutrition: Science and Everyday Application by Alice Callahan, PhD; Heather Leonard, PhD, RDN; and Tamberly Powell, MS, RDN
Publication Date: 2022 - updated 2023

This book is designed as an Open Education Resource (OER) for introductory nutrition courses and has been adopted for use in high schools and colleges. Topics covered include basic nutrition and metabolism, information literacy, body weight and health, nutrition across life stages, dietary supplements, an in-depth look at each of the macronutrients, and major functions of vitamins and minerals.
Kansas State University Human Nutrition (FNDH 400) Flexbook by Brian Lindshield
ISBN: 9781944548117

Publication Date: 2018-08-13

A textbook for students taking an intermediate-level, human nutrition course.
An Introduction to Nutrition by Maureen Zimmerman, Mesa Community College; Beth Snow, University of British Columbia
Publication Date: 2012

This book is written for students who are not majoring in nutrition, but want to learn about the fundamental aspects of nutrition and how it applies to their own lives.
Nutrition: Science and Everyday Application by Alice Callahan; Heather Leonard; Tamberly Powell
ISBN: 9781636350035

Publication Date: 2021

This book is currently in development and should be considered a beta version, slated for completion in 2021. It is designed as an OER text and learning resource for undergraduate students enrolled in FN 225 Nutrition at Lane Community College in Eugene, Oregon. The book covers basic nutrition and metabolism, information literacy, energy balance, nutrition across life stages, dietary supplements, an in-depth look at each of the macronutrients, and major functions of vitamins and minerals.
Human Nutrition: 2020 Edition by University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa Food Science and Human Nutrition Program
Publication Date: 2020

This textbook serves as an introduction to nutrition for undergraduate students, covering basic concepts in human nutrition, key information about essential nutrients, basic nutritional assessment, and nutrition across the lifespan.
Principles of Nutrition Textbook, Second Edition by Jellum, Lisa; Hitzeman, Jason; Knauss, Mark; Henderson, Sharryse; Harnden, Tom; Elsberry, Cynthia; and Ford, Greg,
Publication Date: 2018

This book covers the basics of nutrition, metabolism, diet, and health.
Nutrition 100 Nutritional Applications for a Healthy Lifestyle by Lynn Klees
A primary goal of the course is to provide you with information backed by nutritional science, and a variety of resources that use scientific evidence to optimize health and prevent disease.
Nutrition Through the Life Cycle by Sabine Zempleni
Publication Date: 2020-01-01

Quality of life and healthy life expectancy depend on avoiding or delaying chronic diseases. Lifestyle choices during all life stages, especially the critical periods, prime the individual for the development of chronic diseases.

Supplemental Course Materials & Interactive Resources

Lumen Courses
Course Materials

Nutrition
This Lumen Course teaches students to understand the methods scientists use to explore nutritional phenomenon, including observation, hypothesis development, measurement and data collection, experimentation, evaluation of evidence and the use of mathematical analysis, provides students with the ability to understand the role of the six classifications of essential nutrients and the role they play in the body, and shows students how to analyze and evaluate current issues in the nutrition field.

more... less...

Please note that each module is individually licensed. Lumen also provides access to instructor resources.
Essentials of Nutrition
This brief Lumen Course covers the basics of nutrition in 3 modules with case studies, including the topics of nutrition absorption, carbohydrates, fats, proteins, metabolism and more.

more... less...

Please note that each module is individually licensed. Lumen also provides access to instructor resources.
Nutrition
This Lumen Course was developed to supplement the OER text Human Nutrition that was published by the University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa Food Science and Human Nutrition Program, providing a series of lectures to accompany that textbook.

more... less...

Please note that each module is individually licensed. Lumen also provides access to instructor resources.

NUTR 101: Intro to Nutrition
OER Canvas course shared by Bates Technical College instructor, 2020. Includes modules, assignments, and discussions. CC BY NC SA
NUTR 101 – Nutrition
A nutrition course designed for science majors. It emphasizes the key nutritional concepts that students going into health care need to learn. It addresses the biochemical underlying causes of heart disease, stroke and diabetes due to lack of appropriate nutrition and exercise. It also details the digestive process, the digestion and absorption of macro and micronutrients including vitamins, minerals and phytonutrients. The course also examines the role of cultural factors, biochemical signals and psychological factors such as stress in eating habits. Various diets and overall metabolism are covered in relation to their effect on health. Nutrition for special populations is also discussed.
Basic Nutrition
This course presents the basic principles of nutrition and diet therapy for all age groups.

more... less...

Please note that all course materials and content are provided in the IMS Common Cartridge (IMSCC) format. The content can be accessed by opening the IMSCC file using your organization's Learning Management System application (these include Blackboard, D2L, Canvas etc.).

Open Access Journals

Nutrition Journal
Nutrition Journal publishes surveillance, epidemiologic, and intervention research that sheds light on i) influences on eating patterns; ii) associations between eating patterns and health, and iii) strategies to improve eating patterns among populations.
Current Developments in Nutrition
Current Developments in Nutrition (CDN) is a peer-reviewed, open access journal that strives to briskly review, publish, and disseminate high-quality research in nutritional sciences.
Scholarly Journal of Food and Nutrition
Scholarly Journal of Food and Nutrition (SJFN) is an open access scientific journal, which covers high quality of manuscripts which are both relevant and applicable to the broad field of applied life sciences. Journal aims to reflect contemporary thinking so that professionals can keep pace with the developments in the field of nutrition and food sciences.

Health, Wellness, & Nutrition

Resource Collections/Bookshelves

Related eBooks

Textbooks

Supplemental Course Materials & Interactive Resources

Open Access Journals