Native Knowledge 360° (NK360°) provides educators and students with new perspectives on Native American history and cultures. Most Americans have only been exposed to part of the story, as told from a single perspective through the lenses of popular media and textbooks. NK360° provides educational materials and teacher training that incorporate Native narratives, more comprehensive histories, and accurate information to enlighten and inform teaching and learning about Native America. Content on this site is hosted by the Smithsonian Institute may be licensed with CC0 (Public Domain) or a Standard Copyright.
Smithsonian Open Access: where you can download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images—right now, without asking. With new platforms and tools, you have easier access to more than 3 million 2D and 3D digital items from our collections—with many more to come. This includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo. Image Credit: War Dance of the Sauks and Foxes by Edward Corbould, CC0
The pictures listed in this leaflet portray Native Americans, their homes and activities. They have been selected from pictorial records deposited in the National Archives by 15 Government agencies, principally the Bureau of Indian Affairs, the Bureau of American Ethnology, and the United States Army. Unless otherwise noted, images are part of the Public Domain.
American Notes includes the full text of 253 accounts of travel in the colonies and the U.S. One notable part of this collection is Ruben Gold Thwaites 32 volume Early Western Travels, 1748-1846. Use keyword, subject, author, or title to search the collection. All works in this collection are part of the Public Domain.
The Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division Curtis collection has About 1,600 photographs that were not included in Curtis's book "The North American Indian." All items in this collection are part of the Public Domain. Image Credit: "Zosh Clishn--Apache" by Edward S. Curtis, CC0.
Southeastern Native American Documents, 1730-1842, contains approximately 2,000 documents and images relating to the Native American population of the Southeastern United States. The documents are comprised of letters, legal proceedings, military orders, financial papers, and archaeological images relating to Native Americans in the Southeast. Unless otherwise noted, materials in this collection are part of the Public Domain. Image credit: "Claim [for] spoliation [directed to] R[eturn] J. Meigs" MS2033 Penelope Johnson Allen, Special Collections Library, The University of Tennessee, Knoxville, TN, presented in the Digital Library of Georgia.
Native Peoples of North America
by
Sturtevant, W. C. & Geological Survey, U. S. (1967) National atlas. Indian tribes, cultures & languages: United States. Reston, Va.: Interior, Geological Survey. [Map] Retrieved from the Library of Congress.
The maps in the Map Collections materials were either published prior to 1922, produced by the United States government, or both. The Library of Congress is providing access to these materials for educational and research purposes and is not aware of any U.S. copyright protection or any other restrictions in the Map Collection materials.
Geological Survey, U. S. & United States Indian Claims Commission. (1978) Indian Land Areas Judicially Established. Reston, Va.: The Survey. [Map] Retrieved from the Library of Congress.
The maps in the Map Collections materials were either published prior to 1922, produced by the United States government, or both. The Library of Congress is providing access to these materials for educational and research purposes and is not aware of any U.S. copyright protection or any other restrictions in the Map Collection materials.
One Map of Lake Oahe and a 45 page booklet of maps for the Oahe Dam and Lake Oahe. All of these images are in the public Domain because they were created by the government. Just click on the two map images to view either resource. For the 45 page booklet you may need to click the full screen icon in the upper right corner to view all 45 pages.
Along Navajo Trails: Recollections of a Trader 1898-1948
by
Cree: Language of the Plains / nēhiyawēwin: paskwāwi-pīkiskwēwin
by
Knowing Home: Braiding Indigenous Science with Western Science, Book 1
by
Oregon’s History: People of the Northwest in the Land of Eden
by
Native American Oral Traditions
by
Indian Self-Rule
by
Histories of Indigenous Peoples and Canada
by
ECHO: Ethnographic, Cultural and Historical Overview of Yukon's First Peoples
by
A Member of Minnesota State
