Veterinary Technician

• Full Text  - ensures that all results have full text available to read immediately
  • If Full Text is not selected, there will be more results, but many will need to be Requested by Interlibrary Loan from other libraries, which can take time
• Scholarly/Peer Reviewed - ensures that all results were written by subject experts, and reviewed by other experts in the field for accuracy
• Publication Date: Limit as needed - this ensures that only information published within a specific date range will appear

Search terms will vary based on research topics.  If you would like assistance with selecting search terms, please contact Library Staff or your Instructor.

• Veterinarian
• Veterinary
• Veterinary Technician
• Animal medicine
• Parasitology
• Pharmacology
• Animal husbandry
• Species specific terms: Canine, Feline, Ovine, Bovine, Equine, Porcine, etc.

Students can access the databases from home by logging in with their StarID & Password.

A call number, also known as a classification number, is the numerical or alpha-numerical string of numbers and letters that libraries use to identify, organize, and find individual items on library shelves.

All print or paper copies of books in the library are assigned a call number, usually found on the book spine (this is often referred to as a spine label).

The call number represents what the book is about and acts like the book's address on the library's shelves, also known as stacks. Because books on the shelves are arranged in call number order, you will find books on similar subjects shelved near each other.

Spine Label Examples:

      Dewey Decimal                  Fiction                 Library of Congress

The Dewey Decimal Classification System is a classification system by which libraries organize their Non-Fiction collections numerically by subject.  The system divides all knowledge into 9 basic subject classes, ranging numerically from 000-999. All Dewey Decimal call numbers are at least 3 digits long, and may be further extended by the use of decimal numbers. Each digit of a Dewey Decimal number signifies a level of subject specificity.

Dewey Decimal # 636.089

The specific Dewey number 636.089 is designated for Veterinary Medicine and Veterinary Science.  If you wish to browse the library collection in search of resources for Veterinary Technicians, this would be a good place to start. 

Dewey Decimal # 636

The larger range of the Dewey number 636 and all of its ensuing decimals is designated for Animal Husbandry and works on Domestic Animals.  If you wish to browse the library collection in search of resources about specific Animals, this would be a good place to start. 

Dewey Decimal # 590-599

The larger range of the Dewey number 590 through 599 is designated for scientific works on Zoology.  If you wish to browse the library collection in search of resources about Animal Anatomy and Physiology or other Biological information pertaining to Animals, this would be a good place to start. 

The Library of Congress Classification System is a classification system by which libraries organize their Non-Fiction collections alpha-numerically by subject.  The system divides all knowledge into 21 basic classes, each identified by a single letter of the alphabet. Most of these alphabetical classes are further divided into more specific subclasses, identified by two-letter combinations. Following these alphabetical headings, each topic is assigned a single number or a span of numbers. Whole numbers used in LCC may range from one to four digits in length, and may be further extended by the use of decimal numbers.

Library of Congress # SF600-1100 

The SF range of Library of Congress call numbers is designated for Animal Husbandry and Animal Science, with the more specific SF600-1100 range focusing on Veterinary Medicine.